After passing the Illinois House on a party-line vote, a controversial $15 per hour minimum wage hike is on its way to Governor JB Pritzker’s desk. The plan, if signed into law, would raise the minimum wage to $15 per hour over 6 years, and to $13 per hour during the same period for those under 18.
Opponents of the plan noted the vast differences in the cost of living across Illinois. They also raised concerns that the incremental increase could have far-reaching implications for employers across the board, including an increase in annual costs for state agencies, local school districts, human service providers and hospitals.
Pritzker is expected to sign the measure into law.